Skip to content

The Everytown Survivor Network is a nationwide community of survivors working together to end gun violence. Throughout the year, we offer events that focus on creating space for survivors of gun violence to be with and learn from one another. More events will be announced soon.

National Gun Violence Survivors Week

Throughout National Gun Violence Survivors Week, we’ll be hosting three virtual community conversations on Zoom. We invite you to join one or all three.

*Can’t join a session live? Register now, and we’ll send you an email with a link to view the recording after the event.

Community Conversation: The Impact of Gun Violence on America’s Youth

Friday, February 3, 2023 at 2pm ET / 1pm CT / 11am PT

Guns are the number one killer of young people in the United States – every year, 18,000 children and teens are shot and killed or wounded, and approximately 3 million witness an act of gun violence, with Black and Latinx youth bearing the brunt of this crisis. When homes, neighborhoods, and schools are not safe from gun violence, entire generations of American children are affected.

Young people have grown up in the midst of the gun violence epidemic and many are leading the way in advocating for solutions. In this roundtable conversation, young leaders and activists will discuss their perspectives on the challenges and solutions in reducing the traumatic impact of gun violence on America’s youth.

Moderator

Ashley Castillo, Students Demand Action

Panelists

  • Marco Vargas, Managing Partner, Fifth Sun Pictures
  • Jakoby Mitchell, Everytown Student Survivor Fellow
  • Taina Patterson, Everytown Student Survivor Fellow
  • Zachary Mallory, Everytown Survivor Fellow

Community Conversation: Public Health Leaders

Saturday, February 4, 2023 at 12pm ET / 11am CT / 9am PT

Over the past few years, the medical community in this country has battled dual public health crises: the COVID-19 pandemic, and the gun violence epidemic. Some operate on or care for survivors of firearm injury after they’ve been paralyzed, lost a limb, or been disabled. Some deliver mental health care to siblings and parents of loved ones who have been shot, or treat anxiety of teachers and students who must participate in active shooter drills at school, despite already being traumatized by the constant news of school shootings.

Members of the healthcare community are trained not only to address illnesses and trauma, but also to prevent disease and injuries before they occur. In this panel, we will hear from public health activists to discuss one of the greatest issues facing American public health and discuss concrete actions they’ve been taking in their communities to effect change.

Moderator

Tannuja Rozario, Associate Director of Research, Everytown for Gun Safety

Panelists

  • Congresswoman Kim Schrier, M.D., Washington’s 8th Congressional District
  • Dr. Edward Barksdale Jr., Surgeon-in-Chief, Division of Pediatric Surgery, Rainbow Babies and Children’s Hospital
  • Johanna Thomas, Ph.D., LCSW
  • Liza Chowdhury, Ph.D., Project Director, Paterson Healing Collective
  • Dr. Michael Hirsh, Director of Injury Free Coalition for Kids; Medical Director, Worcester Division of Public Health

Community Conversation: When There is No Justice

Monday, February 6, 2023 at 8pm ET / 7pm CT / 5pm PT

Too many survivors across the United States carry the enormous emotional burden of not knowing who or why because their shooting is unsolved. Thousands of survivors never have their day in court or see accountability for themselves, their families or in their community. For survivors of unsolved gun homicides, the pain of having a loved one taken by gun violence is compounded by not having answers or seeing justice served.

Solving gun homicides and assaults is essential to addressing the gun violence crisis in America, as it increases trust in law enforcement, breaks cycles of violence in communities, and helps address trauma and promote healing among survivors.

This panel will feature a discussion between survivors and criminal justice experts about what they’re doing and have done to keep pushing forward for justice.

Moderator

Keenon James, Senior Director, Everytown for Gun Safety

Panelists

  • Alicia Schemel, Everytown Senior Survivor Fellow
  • Clemmie Greenlee, Founder and CEO, Nashville Peacemakers
  • Diana Garlington, Founder, Safer Communities for Justice
  • Wilford Pinkney Jr., Director, Office of Violence Prevention, City of St. Louis

Informational Sessions

The Everytown Survivor Network would like to invite you to join one of our informational sessions to learn about the resources, support and advocacy opportunities that are available for you through the Survivor Network, including:

  • Connections and mentorship with other survivors
  • Support groups
  • Advocacy opportunities

Check out our 2023 schedule below! Please note that information sessions are hosted on a bi-monthly basis, and alternate between Wednesday and Saturday.

2023 Bi-Monthly ESN Informational Sessions

Wednesdays at 8pm ET / 5pm PT

  • January 4, 2023
  • February 1, 2023
  • March 1, 2023
  • April 5, 2023
  • May 3, 2023
  • June 7, 2023
  • July 5, 2023
  • August 2, 2023
  • September 6, 2023
  • October 4, 2023
  • November 1, 2023
  • December 6, 2023

Saturdays at 2pm ET / 11am PT

  • January 14, 2023
  • February 11, 2023
  • March 11, 2023
  • April 8, 2023
  • May 13, 2023
  • June 10, 2023
  • July 8, 2023
  • August 12, 2023
  • September 9, 2023
  • October 14, 2023
  • November 11, 2023
  • December 9, 2023

Join the Everytown Survivor Network

Join a nationwide community of survivors working together to end gun violence.

Sign up